Erotic Review Magazine

Ingrid Berthon-Moine: Interview

17th April 2014

Have we become so conditioned to the cosmetic industry’s insidious grasp on the way women ‘should’ look that we’ve forgotten how they actually do look?

Read More »

“Porn merely creates a dream world in which women want sex and lots of it all the time – apparently just like men. ” - Bruno Phillips

News

Bethnal Green PC's

27th January 2014

A show has just opened at X Marks the Bökship in Bethnal Green from 23 Jan to 1 March. Titled The Postcard is a Public Work of Art, it exhibits new artists' postcards by 60 different British-based artists, ranging from the well-known like Susan Hiller, Jonathan Monk, Peter Kennard, Tim Head, etc. to bright younger artists such as Ruth Ewan, Andy Parker and Proctor. In various media and techniques, they all engage with the form and concept of the standard commercial postcard.

Moral Panic? WH Smut and others react…

20th October 2013

The contortions of the ebook retail giants in recent days to retain a squeaky-clean image are a sight to behold; this bears all the hallmarks of  tragi-comedy, i.e. you just don't know whether to laugh or cry. But it also shows that in their rather unseemly haste to clean up their (inadvertently, of course) 'filthy' act, they have pushed some powerful moral panic buttons, judging by the predictably outraged and prurient prose of the Daily Mail, triggering emotive adjectives such as 'horrifying', 'sick', 'vile' and 'disgusting'. So what exactly has happened? Well,  it seems The Kernela techie internet magazine based in the UK discovered that the e-retail departments of British bookshops such as WH Smith, Foyles (good grief!) and Waterstones were selling 'amateur' literature (i.e., self-published ebooks) that glorified rape, incest and bestiality, sometimes combining all three. Then Amazon and Barnes & Noble were found to have even larger 'catalogues of filth'. If you want an excellent resumé of the unfolding story, plus some good comments thereon, read Laura Hazard Owen's piece in GigaOM. But where does this leave the e-publishers? And who is going to operate the censorship machine? At precisely what point does 'coercive fantasy erotica' – or, in other words, an awful lot of BDSM literature, including such popular literary masterpieces as Fifty Shades of Grey – become 'rape-incest porn'? Looks like Amazon et al. are certainly going to have their work cut out for them.

The british museum opens the most important exhibition of the year: shunga

4th October 2013

Shunga: sex and pleasure in Japanese art. 3 October 2013 to 5 January 2014. Explicit and beautifully detailed, these works, produced between 1600 and 1900, have continued to influence manga, anime and Japanese tattoo art. The exhibition sheds new light on this taboo art form within Japanese social and cultural history. Parental guidance advised for visitors under 16. Tickets £7.00 More information here. Peter Webb, author of The Erotic Arts, will be reviewing this important show for us soon.

View All News »

Fiction

Exposure

by E. Ayers / 27th February 2014

By the time she arrived at the restaurant, everything was glowing. An alarming number of candles and dark red lights gave her the feeling that she might be shanghaied by the end of the night. Although in this bone-deep coldness, would being shanghaied be so bad? Maybe not. Her friends, along with some people she had never seen before, occupied the far corner of the restaurant, the sticky table in front of them covered in shot glasses and empty plates. Squeezing in beside two of them on the tiny bench, she pushed her bangs to the side and took a sip of the nearest drink. As she lowered the glass, she noticed someone staring at her—a tall, lanky man with hair cropped slightly too close to his head and sleeves pushed up above his elbows. The certainty with which he looked at her gave her pause. True, there was nothing odd about his gaze, but it was fixed on her, unflinching, unapologetic.

The Stag and the Daughter

by Nick Kennedy / 18th February 2014

Héctor shunted a large cast-iron stag through the doorway. He had walked it in a series of hernia-bulging stages from his villa on the other side of the botanical garden; cutting through the garden had been a mistake – too many winding paths, too few benches – but he hadn’t wanted to be seen by his wife (she’d know about the lover) or the lover (she’d know about the surprise). The lover was Carmen, an idle, yet graceful, woman who passed her days flouncing between the two rooms – bedroom and living room – on the top floor of her house, drifting from one world of cloying pale pink anaglypta to the other.

View All Fiction »

Galleries

Ingrid Berthon-Moine: Baguette and… Marbles

17th April 2014

'In Marbles, a series of photographs of male Greek marble statues, the images are closely cropped and focus on specific parts of the male anatomy. The final photographs are enlarged with the intention of producing an indecipherable photograph oscillating between landscape and medical documentation.

View All Galleries »

Podcasts

Because She's Got Breasts

by / 5th September 2013

After a few months at Erotic Towers, Tati is leaving her post as editorial assistant to chase boys in the South of France. Parting is such sweet sorrow: let us sweeten it a little more with a charming song about her breasts. Ladies, this one is for you.

View All Podcasts »

Articles

Postcards From Beyond

by Bruce Abrahams / 2nd April 2014

I cannot begin to see why everyone is so het up about the Crimea (a faraway country of which we know little). It’s mostly Russian and it voted to join Russia, by a handsome margin. The Ukraine on the other hand has just chucked its elected President in a coup, so how democratic is that? Neither the deposed Ukrainian ruler, or Mr Putin, or indeed most of the leaders elected or otherwise in that benighted part of the world are very nice people. But their history and culture aren’t conducive to promoting niceness and true democracy.

In Defence of Early Sex

by Lea Emery / 17th February 2014

I have a lot of male friends. The nice kind. The kind that want a girlfriend, get sweaty-palmed before a date, and are giddy when it goes well. So I’m constantly baffled when, after a first date, I get the traditional phone-call run-down and they are disappointed because it ‘all went wrong’.

How to avoid a St Valentine's Day Massacre

by Christina Wellor / 6th February 2014

Valentine's Day - for some it's a Hallmark too far, for others a charming Victorian tradition, albeit one that's been marketed to death. When it comes to Valentines presents, I think I may have discovered some middle ground for men, often victims of the dreaded Valentine's Syndrome, i.e., that of Not Getting It Quite Right. Or even Hopelessly Wrong. While it requires a certain amount of effort on a bloke's part (like any kind of grand romantic gesture), get it right and there's usually a payoff; in this case it's a simple one: women love to be spoiled. It gets us in the mood to do terribly filthy things to you. Isn't that really all you need to know?

How Not To Go On TV

by Zoë Apostolides / 22nd January 2014

In the vast, gaping hole of abstinence and economy cheddar that heralds the New Year, I’m already yearning for a little suttin’ suttin’ to perk the days up. And since one cannot in good conscience get shortsighted on the sauce just yet, I decided to do the next best thing: watch other people doing it, from the comfort of my living room, lying supine under a blanket that smells vaguely of hutch.

Man's Breast Friend: A New Mother Writes…

by Christina Wellor / 11th January 2014

We're hung up on tits. Today a woman's sexuality and attractiveness is defined by them. But pert or pendulous, plastic or product of a generous puberty, the prized possessions that front every woman cause controversy. Men love to ogle them, women love to show them off, infants love to feed from them – so in our current cultural climate, can breasts really be all things to all men, women and babies?

A Very Happy 2014 To All Our Readers!

by All at Erotic Towers / 31st December 2013

May 2014 be your year of erotic passion, sexual fulfilment and partnership bliss. And for those of you not in some sort of hot relationship – or even a gently simmering one – may this year's adventures be mainly pleasing ones, and if not exactly felicitous, then at least memorably steamy or salutary. Something to tide you over until The One comes along. A big thank you to all our contributors for your support and all the wonderful work you have submitted. And thanks, too, to our readers for their appreciation of the ER site – and their patience: we hope to resume our normal level of output soon.

View All Articles »

Reviews

Translucent Stuff

by Zoë Apostolides / 15th April 2014

Every generation is accused of believing that it invented sex. In the wake of the Olympic summer, however, you couldn’t catch a tube without catching the eye of the blushing person opposite, precariously balancing Fifty Shades of Grey upon clenched knees. This generation’s late teens and twentysomethings might be forgiven for thinking their own, Jane Austen-style ‘coming out’ ball far racier than anything which had come before.

How to enjoy porn in Bangladesh

by Divya Khan / 3rd February 2014

In a country where heterosexual hand-holding in public is considered distasteful, Lotte Hoek explores an underground culture of ‘cut-piece’ cinema, in which short, pornographic scenes are spliced into a film and shown to audiences behind the back of the draconian censor board. Her book, Cut-Pieces: Celluloid Obscenity and Popular Cinema in Bangladesh is an ethnography of a particular film called Mintu the Murderer, from its production to its reception in Bangladesh.

Ruin and Metamorphosis

by Bruce Abrahams / 19th November 2013

Among the many illuminations offered by Grayson Perry in his Reith Lectures was that of the artist’s primary function to ‘notice things’. The implication being that unless an artwork leads us to notice something we had not before been aware of or considered it is not really art. It may be great décor or design, but it is not strictly speaking ‘art’. Grayson did not add that caveat but it surely follows that if we are not prompted to think about meaning, the artefact however skilfully contrived is essentially a piece of artisanal craftsmanship, however admirable.

Lady Alex's Fine Electric Layer Cake

by Erotic Towers Review Team / 13th November 2013

Lady Alex served up Wam Bam Electric with a sort of elegantly disdainful panache. This is, musically at least, a fine tribute to the 80s, energetically performed and bathed in that trashy, flashy period’s disco glitter. But never mind the nostalgia, it’s a superbly balanced show, more cabaret than burlesque, perhaps, but none the worse for that.

Erotica 2013: From Mega- to, er, Midi-Event

by Jane Fae / 11th November 2013

Will wonders never cease? After several years of not greatly esteeming the brash mega-event that Erotica had become in its accustomed home of Olympia, I was pleasantly surprised by the somewhat more subdued, intimate, sex positive event that was Erotica 2013,over at Tobacco Dock. Whatever can be up?

That Man, This Woman

by Bruce Abrahams / 8th November 2013

This novel is not the work of a child. If the author could just slow down the chatter she might be a decent writer. As it is, the prose style and the heroine reminded me of Bridget Jones on speed. And overall this 456 page (including bonus chapter with male PoV) is pretty much the same sort of thing; except it has not been written by Helen Fielding.

View All Reviews »

Classified Ads

Eve Made A Wish

Eve Made a Wish
has a wonderful selection of high quality erotic toys and lingerie for women at our boutique. We’re not burlesque and we’re not soft-porn – we’re here for positive, sensual erotic pleasure and contemporary design. Be seduced by us!

We stock fabulous products from Shiri Zinn, Je Joue, Rianne S, What Katie Did, Kiss Me Deadly and JimmyJane.

www.evemadeawish.co.uk

Phoenix Cycles

PHOENIX CYCLES
is a friendly, independent cycle shop in Battersea, London SW11. Established in 1992, our bike range isn’t huge but it is considered. British favourites and classics, Brompton, Pashley and Moulton rub handlebars with our favoured hybrid brand, Giant. Come and visit and see for yourself.
OPEN Tuesday – Saturday;
59A Battersea Bridge Road
London SW11 3AU
Tel: 020 7738 2766

 

Did Johann Salvadorus kill the Homecoming Queen? No, he did far worse…

Why not treat your Kindle (or other eReader) to a first-class read?  Now available from ER BOOKS, Heart Killer is a dark, erotic, time-tripping crime thriller by Andy Nowicki.
Heart Killer is Nowicki’s fifth novel, with close thematic links to his controversial 2011 novella, The Columbine Pilgrim

eBook price: £4.30

Erotic Review Books

The web has a new home for creative erotica. An independent online publishing house, ER Books publishes carefully selected digital books, often beautifully illustrated with contemporary and classic erotic art. Browse our catalogue. Explore our website HERE

View All Classified Ads »