Erotic Review Magazine

by Jane Ions / 23rd February 2017

Bill smiled and looked absolutely fine. No hint of what he’d said to me in the taxi on the way home. Amazing really. I don’t know how he manages it.

Read More »

“Sex appeal is the keynote of our civilization. ” - Henri Bergson

Love & Sex

by Jane Ions / 21st February 2017

Jen just asked me what floats my boat. Well I’m bloody well going to find out, and then I’m going to piss off in the damn thing.

by Jane Ions / 16th February 2017

Judith swims regularly, but I only swim on holiday to cool off, and I jump out of the pool like a penguin as soon as someone shouts, ‘Do you fancy a nice cold glass of white wine?’

View All Love & Sex Articles »

Reviews

The 120 Days of Sodom

by Sophie R. Knowles / 22nd February 2017

It’s official: Sade is part of the canon. Thanks to a blistering new translation by Thomas Wynn and Will McMorran, the 120 Days of Sodom now sits merrily alongside War and Peace and Little Women in a restrained, matte black cover. A familiar little bird in an orange bubble is posed directly under Man Ray’s Monument à D. A. F. de Sade, a close-up of pert buttocks framed by an inverted cross. Fifty years ago, anyone who published Sade faced prosecution. Now, ‘the most impure tale ever written’ is a Penguin Classic.

An Almond for a Parrot

by Catherine Ellis / 27th January 2017

Gardner’s vision of eighteenth-century sex work is the perfect mix of romanticism and realism. For every silken gown, rococo pleasure garden, and champagne-fuelled masquerade, she offers a sobering glimpse of the indigence, cruelty and inequality on which eighteenth-century society was built.

2016 Sexual Freedom Awards

by Bruce Abrahams / 20th November 2016

Originally titled The Erotic Oscars until the Hollywood proprietors of the eponymous statue objected and forced a change to The Erotic Awards, this annual recognition of libidinous creative talent is now in its twenty second year. It was conceived by the extraordinary Dr ‘Tuppy’ Owens, ‘onlie begetter’ of The Sex Maniac’s Diary and The Sex Maniac’s Ball. Both productions fell victim to political correctness (the well-researched and informative diary died), although the Ball survived for over twenty five years including a name change to Night of the Senses.

Only the Visible Can Vanish

by Edward Field / 4th November 2016

Only the Visible Can Vanish, Anna Maconochie’s debut collection of short fiction, crackles with an electric energy. It’s extremely present and the humour is trenchant. Eleven stories, dealing with big city themes: urban alienation to the point of wanting to vanish; internet romances; pressure-cooker media jobs; trying to connect with the opposite sex; encounters that could succeed and bloom into fuller, more permanent relationships only to be destroyed by their creaky foundations.

Playing FTSE

by Tara Smyth / 25th October 2016

This is the somewhat predictable story of Melanie, a young woman working hard to gain credits in the banking world and doing her best to be taken seriously for her brain, rather than her body: a seemingly simple, but obviously unrealistic, goal.

Belinda Blinked: 1

by Jessica Slane / 18th October 2016

Here at Erotic Review we are nothing if not champions of good sex: the expression of it, the reading of it, the writing of it and indeed the having of it. So when an erotic novel takes the world by storm, well: we want a piece of the action. Hell, we’ve been wanting a piece of the action since 1995, and Belinda Blinked; 1 A modern story of sex, erotica and passion. How the sexiest sales girl in business earns her huge bonus by being the best at removing her high heels.does the job very nicely indeed. Welcome to the Steeles Pots and Pans industry, where women always come first, and where a humble charity tombola can end in a horsebox.

Are you Hygge?

by Jo Cranford / 14th October 2016

As a topic, Hygge has been trending for some while. With several books on the market I wondered: had we not reached peak Hygge?

View All Reviews »

Articles

A Response to Eimear McBride's TLS critique of DESIRE

by Catherine Ellis / 19th January 2017

The Marquis de Sade tells us that his epic catalogue of perversions, The 120 Days of Sodom, should be treated like a vast banquet. Enjoy the breadth of what’s on offer, pick what you enjoy, and leave what you don’t. Criticise neither the host for giving you such wealth of choice, nor your fellow diners for picking what you find unappetising. Appreciate that dishes which might seem the same to you are, in fact, delicately nuanced. In short, don’t be prudish at the table: be philosophical. Admittedly, advice from Sade should usually be taken with a large pinch of salt (I’m no advocate for abduction, cannibalism, and baroque torture machines myself). Yet we could do worse than adopt his approach to explicit literature. Sex, like eating, is invariably a question of taste. So while Eimear McBride’s critique of Desire: 100 of literature’s sexiest stories is undoubtedly well intentioned, I can’t help but think she would make a judgemental dinner guest.

DOWN AT THE OLD DOOM BAR: POSTCARDS FROM THE EDGE 27

by Bruce Abrahams / 20th December 2016

It’s a funny time of year. Somehow the absence of visitors makes the landscape quieter. In the season it is as if the hum of their activities transmits even at night to the moors. Down at the Old Doom Bar we regulars retreat to the snug in small numbers and the landlord or his wife sometimes join us, though willing to knock out scampi and chips if we fancy them. The women are less in evidence. This is because they are busy with seasonal preparations. As well as list-making, baking and provision planning these include two day excursions to favoured shopping centres such as Bath which is a smart city with spas and high end hairdressers.

The new authoritarianism

by Ian Dunt / 29th November 2016

There’s something rotten in the West. In the UK, the rabid anti-immigrant rhetoric of the Brexit campaign translated into a vote to leave the EU. In the US, a lunatic sociopath won the presidency on the back of a racialised political programme, Biblical levels of misogyny and a constant, almost cult-like worship of aggression and rudeness.

JOYCE MANSOUR: FIVE POEMS TRANSLATED

by Carol Martin-Sperry / 12th November 2016

There is nothing like Joyce Mansour’s poetry. It expresses the erotic yet cruel power of love and desire. The poems are stark and painful, with an almost frightening and obsessive streak of sado-masochism. The consuming madness of sex and death are fiercely and passionately described with shocking and violent imagery, yet there is often a moving sensitivity in her work. Her vocabulary is precise, every word counts, these poems are bare and spare.

DOWN AT THE OLD DOOM BAR: POSTCARDS FROM THE EDGE 26

by Bruce Abrahams / 1st November 2016

Sex is not often discussed in any direct way in our group. It arose though because one occasional member with literary pretensions happened to have been to the Cheltenham Festival. She (and it could only have been a ‘she’) drew to our attention to a suggestion by Jenni Murray of BBC’s Woman’s Hour during an address there, that schools should have porn lessons. That is, opportunities to review and critically analyse pornography and its underlying messages.

View All Articles »

Fiction

Domino - A Memoir of Venice

by Katherine Mezzacappa / 16th February 2017

‘And your name?’ ‘Ippolita.’ That name is as good as any other – it is not hers.  She does not ask mine and I do not offer it.  Her voice is young – low and sweet.  By the smooth whiteness of her hand I would judge her to be about 25 years old; the black lace of her domino conceals her neck and bosom, the flesh of which I have found is the most reliable in estimating a woman’s age.  I raise her fingers to my lips and keep them there long enough that she may feel not just my kiss but my breath upon her skin.  I lift her other hand then and kiss the palm, and note the ring she wears – la fede it is called here: faith.  I wonder if her husband is present at this levée, if he watches us now, if they have arranged it so.  I cannot say what colour are the eyes glittering behind the mask, for by candle-light we all have eyes like onyx marbles.  She may be a whore, a lady, an initiate.  With the mask all distinctions are erased.

That Old School Skirt, or, Payback’s a Bitch

by James Como / 2nd February 2017

The first incident happened a couple of months into the year.  Nina, of all people, approached him after class and said, “tu eres el hombre mas apetecible del mundo.”  In other words, that he was “appetizing,” in fact the most appetizing man “in the world.”  Like certain fruits.  Edward was speechless.  As he blushed, Nina smiled, unwrapped her skirt, slowly turned, and walked away.  She was wearing gym shorts.  All the girls were in their shorts: it was gym period.  But when she turned her head to look back, no longer smiling but with her eyes very wide open and lips parted, Edward was . . . stirred.

View All Fiction »

Galleries

AN UNRELIABLE HISTORY OF TATTOOS | PAUL THOMAS

20th April 2016

It's the perfect gift for anyone into any of the following: tattoos, satire, make-believe, colour, illustration, poking fun at celebrities, poking fun at royals, poking fun at history, beautifully presented books, life, love, wit, humour, fun. Oh you don't know anyone who likes any of those things? Pity.

View All Galleries »

Videos

ORGASMATRON

by / 10th December 2016

'What can MRI scans of brains in orgasm tell us? Past editrice of the Erotic Review Rowan Pelling reveals how the science of la petite mort might might hold the key to abolishing pain. This debate is brought to you by the Institute of Art and Ideas, home to cutting-edge philosophy and ideas from the world’s leading thinkers."

Videos

Classified Ads

We support the disenfranchised 48.1%

DESIRE: FROSTRUP & EROTIC REVIEW

 

OUT NOW!

100 of literature’s sexiest stories, chosen by Mariella Frostrup and the Erotic Review.

Strict mistresses, naughty maids, handsome gardeners and disarming strangers; literature is awash with love, sex and desire. This collection brings together 100 of the best examples, hand-picked by Mariella Frostrup and the Erotic Review.

Phoenix Cycles

PHOENIX CYCLES
is a friendly, independent cycle shop in Battersea, London SW11. Established in 1992, our bike range isn’t huge but it is considered. British favourites and classics, Brompton, Pashley and Moulton rub handlebars with our favoured hybrid brand, Giant. Come and visit and see for yourself.
OPEN Tuesday – Saturday;
59A Battersea Bridge Road
London SW11 3AU
Tel: 020 7738 2766

 

Erotic Review Books

The web has a new home for creative erotica. An independent online publishing house, ER Books publishes carefully selected digital books, often beautifully illustrated with contemporary and classic erotic art. Browse our catalogue. Explore our website HERE

View All Classified Ads »