Erotic Review Magazine

Romance, but not as we know it, Jim

by Bruce Abrahams / 15th July 2019

When at my first advertising agency I worked in Media. Back then weekly women’s magazines sold in tens of thousands and, knitting and cookery apart, majored on short stories and romantic serials. The formulae were predictable: the serial would be a heavy-duty drama (often period) modelled on the Brontës, today's equivalent being Poldark. Short stories would feature some contemporary drama of love, betrayal and redemption. It was chicklit, but not as we know it now.

Read More »

“I write about sex because often it feels like the most important thing in the world. ” - Jeanette Winterson

Love & Sex

On Being Out of Love

by Karin Jones / 5th June 2019

Only recently I was still slumped on the couch nursing a bottle of wine and a bowl of popcorn. No Prince Charming is going to be attracted to that mess no matter how sexy my bed head look. And even when I put on lipstick and a little black dress, my unprocessed grief surrounds me like a stinky pheromone cloud.

Masturbation Liberation

by Karin Jones / 14th May 2019

Self pleasure is one of life’s greatest gifts. It’s like having a never ending supply of peanut M&M’s in your pocket. How sad that people grow up thinking jacking off to be anything other than a magical moment of calorie-free joy.

View All Love & Sex Articles »

Reviews

Herstory: Mistresses, Tarts and Real Women

by Bruce Abrahams / 4th July 2019

Radical feminists have historically sometimes characterised marriage as essentially prostitution; wherein a woman sacrifices her autonomy and her sexuality to a man in return for security. In these more enlightened times we might all hope this to be a reduced, if not yet out of date, interpretation. We might hope, but optimism must be based on the increasing power of the female voice in legislatures around the world, rather than a paradigm shift in male attitudes.

Review: Permission

by Celia Morris / 29th April 2019

Saskia Vogel’s debut about a young woman finding closure after the loss of her father seizes you by your tenderest parts and tosses you headlong into the sea. From the first page, the ground beneath Echo, the novel’s main character, is shifting: she ‘knew the landscape would not hold’. And it is this landscape that we must navigate with her, praying that the journey will not prove as treacherous as her father’s.

Review: Fucking Law

by Benedict Welch / 22nd April 2019

Throughout Fucking Law, Brooks wants you to fuck. She calls for an ‘orgy of destruction’, for the destruction of ethical and sexual codes ‘that are not our own’ . For too long, she argues, your fucking has been determined not by your body but by someone else’s head. ‘Everything has become a concept,’ she writes, ‘and thus falls within the possibility of being known by philosophers’. But fucking can’t be known; knowledge of fucking can’t be discovered without first-hand experience—without doing it.

THE GOVERNESSES

by Bruce Abrahams / 5th April 2019

The concept of ‘the male gaze’ has become a powerful signifier in the feminist struggle for parity of esteem. It is more than a description of masculine carnality – rather a crucial component of the taxonomy that divides the human species into male and female. It is a conundrum and issue that is unlikely to be resolved easily for many reasons. One of these is to do with the difficulty (for men at least) of identifying ‘the female gaze’.

Instructions for a Funeral

by Bruce Abrahams / 28th March 2019

It has always seemed to me that a good short story should appeal much more to the reader’s sense of film than of prose. It should act as finished screenplay rather than elaborate narrative in terms of the stimulus and response. Much has to be conveyed in a short space and a complete way without overloading the text. Of course film has the ability to mix and match sound (including silence), vision and word, which enables the medium to condense or stretch narrative content at will.

Full Frontal

by Catherine Ellis / 6th February 2019

Exposed: The Naked Portrait has brought full-frontal nudity to Newcastle. A bold move in the face of the icy winds that howl along the Tyne. I might be an adopted daughter of a city on the same latitude as Copenhagen, but the mere thought of getting my kit off here when there’s an ‘r’ in the month chills me to the bone. Perhaps it’s not a surprise, then, that the Laing’s latest offering left me – if heartened by its intentions – just a little cold.

View All Reviews »

Articles

What Women Really Want in Bed

by Amanda Lees / 11th June 2019

What do women really want in bed? It’s a good question. So good I put it to women and men in a survey and the results were revealing in unexpected and often hilarious ways. Take, for instance, the respondent who insists that what women really want from a sexual encounter is some ‘ooga booga’. No, I still don’t know what it is, but boy do I want some.

Sehnsucht

by Elise Wouters / 11th March 2019

What holds the key to desire? In an age of instant gratification and constant communication, with sex virtually at our fingertips, moments of mystery feel hard to come by and easy to bypass. Yet scientists suggest that the most powerful dopamine kick can take place in the anticipatory stages, when the neurochemistry of romantic potential runs high. So how can we draw on these moments of longing, of savouring the before, of almost-touching to achieve transcendence? By exploring the erotic poetics of language — from famous love letters over untranslatable words to sexting— I discovered the ways in which the human imagination shapes desire, and learnt that a little yearning in life and love goes a long way.

Edible Pleasures - a textbook of Aphrodisiacs

by Lana Citron / 5th February 2019

Aimed at the more discerning gourmand, Edible Pleasures is a cultural and culinary romp through the history of aphrodisiacs. Written in three parts the first titled How an Appetite is formed explores how and why universally, culturally and historically food and love have become intertwined.

Streetwalking

by Rebecca Riley / 28th December 2018

That season is once again upon us when we find ourselves shivering in the damp embrace of the weather, which sputters over our spectacles and dribbles down our necks like an elderly maiden aunt.

The Radiance of Banality - Part Two

by Henry Coburn / 17th December 2018

At one point in December, about a month after I had moved to the tiny office run by this black-hearted publishing concern, I had gone for one of my lengthy walks around the pier at midday when I got a call from the Ely office to say that the CEO of the House had turned up unexpectedly at the office in London and wanted to know why I wasn’t there. I gave an excuse and made haste back to my post. Once I arrived on the 33rd floor, I was accosted by a tall, young Indian man dressed in an outrageous polyester suit that was so shiny I could see my face in it, iridescent gold trainers, and was wearing shades that shielded his eyes (even indoors and in December).

The Radiance of Banality - Part One

by Henry Coburn / 29th November 2018

It is difficult, and probably unnecessary, to describe the existential panic that descends on you once you are cast loose from university to fend for yourself in the adult world. In my case, the general misery that descends with the realisation that you are going to have to be responsible for your own fuck-ups from now on was compounded with a series of personal crises. In a pinch, I accepted a job offer from a friend to be a housekeeper in Colorado for a couple of months, and then spent the rest of the year Kerouacking about the Americas, taking a sabbatical from reality and generally putting off sorting my life out for a little while. I applied for a few postgrad places but didn’t get close to getting in anywhere thanks to my fluffed Finals results, and returned to the UK in the Summer of ’17 to try and blaze some path as a freelance journalist/editorialist/content writer/lion tamer/any old busybody in the London literary scene, more as a default than a last resort.

Treehugging

by Rebecca Riley / 3rd November 2018

Some while past, and putting a novel spin on the phrase ‘green fingered’, a close friend of mine declared a rare passion for vegetables: she informed me that she had adopted the humble courgette as her preferred masturbatory contrivance. I say humble – in truth it was generally a courgette with much to pride itself upon, firm, thick and of a goodly length.

View All Articles »

Fiction

Marble

by Anna P. Novak / 11th July 2019

Paul himself said nothing. He knew, of course, that the fact that he had a life-size marble statue, looking almost like an ancient Greek sculpture, lying on the floor of his workspace in decorative fashion was bound to upset people. It was also obvious, however, that it was difficult for people to take their eyes off of the figure. He had had a group of friends over one night – well, acquaintances, really – and the situation had been almost surreal. Everyone’s eyes kept wandering back to the composition of exquisitely feminine limbs…

The Escort

by Esther Green / 25th June 2019

Apart from the two dentists and the patients she didn’t meet many men, and it was hard to find someone attractive when you knew about their gum disease and congenital halitosis. She had friends from school whom she kept up with, and occasionally went to the pictures with a lad, a brother of a friend, but on the whole her life trotted along fairly efficiently without a boyfriend.

View All Fiction »

Galleries

Patpong – Bangkok After Dark

22nd August 2018

This gallery showcases the faces and bodies inside Bangkok's infamous Patpong neighbourhood, a street where foreigners and locals alike gather to share in the revelry. These four acres of vice arose in the 1940s around the city's airline offices and continues in the same tradition to this day.

View All Galleries »

Videos

Have I A Dirty Mind…?

26th January 2019

Malachi O'Doherty's photographs and verse ponder the 'uncanny similarities between organs of generation among fungi and flowers and trees…' A slide show with a difference

Videos

Classified Ads

MIKE ARLEN'S GUYS

* * * * * * * * * * ** * * * * * * *
ADVERTISEMENT
* * * * * * * * * * ** * * * * * * *

AS A PROFESSIONAL PHOTOGRAPHER, MIKE ARLEN SPENT DECADES SEARCHING FOR THE BEST-LOOKING MEN, OFTEN COLLECTING THEM FROM THEIR BARRACKS TO REMOVE THEIR UNIFORMS FOR HIS CAMERA. COULD YOU COPE WITH A MAGAZINE HAVING 21 STUNNING NUDE MEN IN YOUR HANDS?

VOLUME 15 of MIKE ARLEN’S GUYS is available, post-free, at £9.99p
from
THE WETHERBY STUDIOS.
23, WETHERBY
MANSIONS,
EARLS COURT SQUARE,
LONDON.
SW5 9BH
Queries to: 0207 373 1107.

We support the disenfranchised 48.1%

DESIRE: FROSTRUP & EROTIC REVIEW

 

OUT NOW!

100 of literature’s sexiest stories, chosen by Mariella Frostrup and the Erotic Review.

Strict mistresses, naughty maids, handsome gardeners and disarming strangers; literature is awash with love, sex and desire. This collection brings together 100 of the best examples, hand-picked by Mariella Frostrup and the Erotic Review.

Phoenix Cycles

PHOENIX CYCLES
is a friendly, independent cycle shop in Battersea, London SW11. Established in 1992, our bike range isn’t huge but it is considered. British favourites and classics, Brompton, Pashley and Moulton rub handlebars with our favoured hybrid brand, Giant. Come and visit and see for yourself.
OPEN Tuesday – Saturday;
59A Battersea Bridge Road
London SW11 3AU
Tel: 020 7738 2766

 

Erotic Review Books

Our ER Books website is currently under revision/reconstruction.

View All Classified Ads »