Erotic Review Magazine

Monogamy or Bust? Let's Reframe the Affair

by Karin Jones / 21st October 2016

If having an affair is an indication of wanting to be someone else - the passionate, desired, alive person that many people describe how they feel in affairs, don’t ask what is wrong with wanting that. Ask how you might frame an affair to be a life affirming experience, one that injects new energy into every facet of your life, including your marriage.

Read More »

“Sex got me into trouble from the age of fifteen: I’m hoping that by the time I’m seventy I’ll straighten it out. ” - Harold Robbins

Love & Sex

by Jane Ions / 19th October 2016

I like the sound of Twitter. It makes me think of light hearted, spirited chat, of people sitting on tree branches calling merrily to each other, back and forth. It sounds like fun.

by Jane Ions / 17th October 2016

‘I think they’re pretty poisonous. You definitely wouldn’t want to put one in the casserole.’ I looked around her garden over the fence. ‘You haven’t got any rhubarb anyway.’

View All Love & Sex Articles »


Belinda Blinked: 1

by Jessica Slane / 18th October 2016

Here at Erotic Review we are nothing if not champions of good sex: the expression of it, the reading of it, the writing of it and indeed the having of it. So when an erotic novel takes the world by storm, well: we want a piece of the action. Hell, we’ve been wanting a piece of the action since 1995, and Belinda Blinked; 1 A modern story of sex, erotica and passion. How the sexiest sales girl in business earns her huge bonus by being the best at removing her high heels.does the job very nicely indeed. Welcome to the Steeles Pots and Pans industry, where women always come first, and where a humble charity tombola can end in a horsebox.

Are you Hygge?

by Jo Cranford / 14th October 2016

As a topic, Hygge has been trending for some while. With several books on the market I wondered: had we not reached peak Hygge?

The Irritatingly Erotic Adventures of Charles McBride

by Tara Smyth / 11th October 2016

Recently divorced (thank god), Charles is now a richer, possibly fatter – and certainly happier – man overall. His journey back to this childhood holiday destination promises to be a relaxing few days for him to clear his mind, while enjoying his favourite food and drinks, sitting in his favourite bars and restaurants and indulging in his favourite haunts, without that stupid bitch around to burden him as she had done for the past two decades.


by Zoë Apostolides / 30th September 2016

It’s been 31 years since the publication of Riders, Jilly Cooper’s first novel in the infamous Rutshire Chronicles and one which, before the age of backed-up hard drives, was very nearly lost forever. It was 1970, and the number 22 bus was about to become the final resting place of the bestselling novel’s first draft and only copy. Mount!, published earlier this month, gives the occasional flirty nod to new millennial readers: Rupert Campbell-Black (a sort of sex-crazed Uncle Matthew from The Pursuit of Love) is back, he’s 59 and he has an iPhone. There’s a website called Skypegoat, a gorilla onesie and a horse called Trans Jennifer in this latest offering, but don’t be fooled: the throbbing heart of Cooper’s earlier works beats as lustily as the wagging tail of Banquo the black lab.


by Zoë Apostolides / 8th September 2016

If, as filmmaker Nick Zebb comments, today’s smut is indeed tomorrow’s fine art, then Toby Mott’s soon-to-be-released celebration of punk and sex is set to fly off shelves (and, more to the point, it means we really are onto something here at Erotic Review, where we’ve been peddling both for 21 steamy years). Showboat is published later this month and brings to the market a visually led smorgasbord of punk culture from 1972 onwards, examining the historical relationship between punk and sex.

Spill Your Guts Here at the Edinburgh Fringe Show

by Daisy Bata / 18th August 2016

Amongst the myriad layers of theatre, comedy, performance and pure madness that fills the streets of Edinburgh for the Fringe Festival every year, it can be hard to find productions that resonate. Spill Your Guts Here, written and performed by Sophie Lakely, is one such show that not only captures the filthy, embarrassing parts of being an intelligent young woman in 2016, but the desolation of heartbreak and the dangers of allowing yourself to fall into a void.

Helmut Newton — A Retrospective in Amsterdam

by Ali May / 5th August 2016

How do you tell a story in just one frame? Do it the way Helmut Newton did. I saw his big retrospective in Rome in 2013 and again last weekend in Amsterdam’s Foam. The major exhibition features more than 200 photographs, ranging from the monumental, life-size nudes to some of his early prints that are rarely shown.

View All Reviews »


We need your help…

by Jamie Maclean / 27th September 2016

Last week at the Polish Club in Exhibition Road we gave a party for contributors and co-workers to celebrate twenty-one years of great writing – and many other contributions  – to the Erotic Review. The vodka flowed, as did the memories. We oohed and ahhhed at a pair of great burlesque performances: Abigail Collins as a delicious trailer-trash vamp catching spinning hula-hoops and Kate Barker as a saucy, horny demoness with exploding nipple-guards. Lisa Moylett, our publisher and the event’s hostess, announced a Kickstarter crowdfunding campaign for a book that celebrates twenty-one years of great writing on sex: ER21

An Interview with Jodi Ellen Malpas

by Zoë Apostolides / 14th September 2016

I had a friend tell me about her erotic novel recently, a heavily horse-themed saga she’s been writing on and off  for years and, running as it currently does to some 80,000 words, is nigh-on ready to reach the audience it deserves. I’m surprised when she says fervently that no living soul will ever clap eyes on the thing, and that it’ll lie on her hard drive as innocently as a copy of the Racing Post for time immemorial. She’s not embarrassed by it: far from, but it’s personal. My meeting with Jodi Ellen Malpas in a Soho hotel reminded me of this, if only because the New York Times-bestselling author began her career doing just the same thing: writing in secret, without expecting that her work would one day be read by millions.

Down At The Old Doom Bar: Postcards from the Edge 25

by Bruce Abrahams / 30th August 2016

There was a particular charm about the way the British hockey girls celebrated their win. Although the sport is officially billed as ‘women’s’ hockey, the team members referred to themselves as ‘the girls’; much as males talk about ‘the lads’. One of our group (who claimed to have studied sociology) remarked on the semiotics of these descriptors. It was evident that female sports had to be described as ‘women’s’ - neither ‘female’ nor ‘ladies’ were options because the former was too clinical and the latter plain old-fashioned. But would it have been acceptable for third parties to refer to our heroines as ‘girls’?

Sex Workers of the World – Unite!

by Bruce Abrahams / 31st May 2016

As with the LGBT movement, Sex Workers in various combines have fought valiantly for their corner of social understanding and acceptance. Last year they put together their first Opera at the Arcola Theatre and 29th May this year has just seen the end of their second week's run at The Pleasance.


by Kate Copstick / 24th May 2016

“There is a problem for kids who have grown up with online porn on tap. Girls think that it's OK to be treated like that and boys think thats how they have to behave.” We suck the froth off our second pint. “There is a really high level of erectile dysfunction in boys under the age of 20” she informs me. “A friend of mine he spent some time with a couple of girls – they were under 20 and he was 30 – and they were really surprised because when they unzipped him he was ready to go and they'd never experienced that.”

Fetish and Love

by Nadine Summers / 19th May 2016

Love is a many splendid thing, love lifts us up where we belong, all you need is love - right? But what about sex? What if love and sex don’t combine, but instead you are left with someone you love, or someone you want to have sex with, but not a combination of the two?

View All Articles »



by Anna Maconochie / 21st September 2016

The aliens crash-landed in the middle of London Fashion Week - right through the roof of the old tobacco factory into Jemima Ong's debut show. Everyone applauded as the 'creatures' took to the catwalk. They were even wearing the same distressed crinolines and burnt sienna/mauve palette cut to their multiple tentacles and horns. 'They're attacking the models!' cried the football player and his wife in the front row. Except the models seemed quite happy about it. Ecstatic, even. The girls and the aliens tangled in and out of file down the catwalk like a self-weaving river of long lost tribes reuniting, burning with love.

We Offer Disappointment

by Rob Palk / 11th September 2016

Times have been hard for our business. Pornographic experience is so easily available. The internet hasn’t helped. And the crash sent a generation of hungry youngsters into the arms of the old. So we’ve had to branch out and to specialise. We offer the parts that porn doesn’t. We offer you reality at ten pounds a minute.

View All Fiction »



20th April 2016

It's the perfect gift for anyone into any of the following: tattoos, satire, make-believe, colour, illustration, poking fun at celebrities, poking fun at royals, poking fun at history, beautifully presented books, life, love, wit, humour, fun. Oh you don't know anyone who likes any of those things? Pity.

View All Galleries »


Forbidden Fantasies

19th October 2016

A debate with Serena Kutchinsky, Rowan Pelling and Kirsty White on Where should we draw the line on sexual fantasy? Former Erotic Review editor Rowan Pelling ponders the intimate ideas banned from the bedroom.


Classified Ads




100 of literature’s sexiest stories, chosen by Mariella Frostrup and the Erotic Review.

Strict mistresses, naughty maids, handsome gardners and disarming strangers; literature is awash with love, sex and desire. This collection brings together 100 of the best examples, hand-picked by Mariella Frostrup and the Erotic Review.


have a look at our book

Hello! In case you haven’t already heard, we are excited to announce that our Kickstarter campaign to celebrate Erotic Review’s coming of age, ER 21, is now launched and live and we urgently need your help!

The more funds we raise the more likely we will be able to attract funding world-wide.

Please help us achieve our goal – and if you can’t pledge to buy the book – help us by passing this URL on to someone who might like to. Your moral support is also very much appreciated.

ER21 is not just a great addition to your library (or bedside table) – it will make the perfect gift for lovers on Valentine’s Day 2017.

Look us up on Kickstarter

Phoenix Cycles

is a friendly, independent cycle shop in Battersea, London SW11. Established in 1992, our bike range isn’t huge but it is considered. British favourites and classics, Brompton, Pashley and Moulton rub handlebars with our favoured hybrid brand, Giant. Come and visit and see for yourself.
OPEN Tuesday – Saturday;
59A Battersea Bridge Road
London SW11 3AU
Tel: 020 7738 2766


Did Johann Salvadorus kill the Homecoming Queen? No, he did far worse…

Why not treat your Kindle (or other eReader) to a first-class read?  Now available from ER BOOKS, Heart Killer is a dark, erotic, time-tripping crime thriller by Andy Nowicki.
Heart Killer is Nowicki’s fifth novel, with close thematic links to his controversial 2011 novella, The Columbine Pilgrim

eBook price: £4.30

Erotic Review Books

The web has a new home for creative erotica. An independent online publishing house, ER Books publishes carefully selected digital books, often beautifully illustrated with contemporary and classic erotic art. Browse our catalogue. Explore our website HERE

View All Classified Ads »