Erotic Review Magazine

Female Viagra: an opinion

by Malachi O'Doherty / 28th August 2015

There is a clear difference between the chemical aids to sexual enjoyment offered to men and women. Viagra is a physical aid. It acts on the body to reinforce the flaccid and the failing instrument of engagement. It is the equivalent of putting a sword in a fencer’s hand, equipping him for action on the understanding that he is already game for it. Addyi, the drug just approved by the FDA for enabling women to be more sexually active, is psychotropic. It is about putting her into the mood. In that sense it is more like readying a fencer for the challenge by whispering in her ear. Which maps onto the standard stereotypes about male and female sexuality, the presumption that the man is up for it all the time, if only he can get it up, and the woman’s problem is mood or failing desire.

Read More »

POSTCARDS FROM THE EDGE 14

by Bruce Abrahams / 25th August 2015

…it is also the time of year when, given good weather, everyone feels sexy: it is the climate in which we think of hotel rooms and whirring fans in the afternoon; the consequences of a jolly al fresco lunch; a siesta when a swimsuit-clad body – which hinted at sensual delights around the pool and is now perceptually refreshed by a few glasses of wine – becomes naked on the cool sheets.

Read More »

Batten down the hatches: storm be comin'…

by John D. Michaelis / 19th August 2015

As far as socio-sexual meltdowns go, the Ashley Maddison debacle appeared to be a bit of a non-event. A couple of fake identities were released as proof of widespread hackery to a news-hungry media adrift in the doldrums of the silly-season, who then produced more hackery of a different stripe. On the female side there was much thinly disguised Schadenfreude at the prospect of millions of marriages thrown into disarray (but not, presumably, their own partnership arrangements), stuff about the ‘groin-cupping sleazoids’ and even one journalist who could not abide these websites’ ‘incitement to mortal sin’, bringing down the Wrath of Jehovah on the heads of these philanderers, as well.

Read More »

ATVOD: this is how they shut you up

by Ian Dunt / 28th June 2015

This is how they shut you up. If you're producing non-mainstream porn, the British authorities are coming after you. They will threaten you, they will destroy your business, they will publish your real name and they will issue crippling fines against you. The penalties for producing ethically-made, non-mainstream porn are legion. Pandora Blake had just started turning a profit when it happened to her. After four years of running her own website, a letter came through the door. It was from the Authority for Television On Demand (ATVOD), a shadowy privately-owned regulator. Atvod is supposed to be the watchdog for video on demand services – stuff like 4oD and iPlayer. In reality it is an organisation which uses a twilight area of law to shut down non-mainstream porn, presided over by a man named Pete Johnson, who appears to be on a personal crusade against pornography.

Read More »

CONFESSIONS OF LOVE

by Florence Walker / 15th June 2015

Summer’s soft, warm breezes are back, bringing their own special memories: the end of exams; holidays on the beach; falling asleep in hammocks; but most of all, the first few exciting weeks of a new relationship. How many of us have enjoyed our first romantic relationship thanks to the revealing outfits that warm weather allowed us wear, the tanned limbs the sun gave us and the simple fact we had somewhere that wasn’t indoors to go and, well, explore? But when sun goes in and the Ray-Bans come off (somehow instantly losing that rose-tinted quality they possessed) we find ourselves ‘in a relationship’.

Read More »

Venus in Furs?

by Jessica Isobella White / 12th June 2015

Every now and again, the wheel of fashion turns but discovers it has nowhere new to go, and suddenly bellbottoms and crop tops are back in vogue. The same cyclical patterns can be found in Gender Politics. Catcalling, quotas and ‘how-to’ books on feminism are all back on the agenda. And so it is that the question of body hair has become somewhat of a ‘thing’ lately, with the press reporting ‘hairy isn’t scary’, with a combination of fear and fascination that denotes it could well be the last taboo. Girls, rejoice! Sporting neon dyed underarms is proof your feminist credentials and a fashion forward-look for SS15. But is a bit of fluff really a political statement?

Read More »

POSTCARDS FROM THE EDGE 13

by Bruce Abrahams / 11th June 2015

Down here there is special concern about whether an EU ban on neonicotinoid coated seeds will threaten the oil seed rape crop. Rape, apart from its colourful contribution to our landscape is apparently (do we detect the PR hands of the OSR Marketing Board?), a coming rival to disease-threatened olive oil in the kitchen. This issue was the cause of some discussion in the Old Doom Bar the other weekend. June arrived wetly so there was leisure time to consider whether to cover our verdant meadows with solar panels – like our neighbours in Devon or persevere with a cash crop such as rape. Rapeseed or brassica napus to give its proper name has nothing contextually or etymologically to do in its familiar form with the act of sexual violence. Nonetheless the term inevitably led someone in our little discussion group to mention the current issue of new CPS guidelines that enable being drunk as no impediment to a female’s claim of rape – that is, non-consensual sex.

Read More »

Under the gay skin of Tehran

by Ali May / 10th June 2015

The account Tom of Tehran (https://instagram.com/tom_of_tehran/) publishes intimate pictures of gay Tehran. They are subtle in nature, perhaps following the long tradition of Persian poetry, where metaphor is king. Most images are accompanied by a description, a poetic narrative that, at times, gets cheeky, humorous, or envious. But it remains evocative at all times.

Read More »

Who’s writing slash and why?

by Felicity Hannah / 1st June 2015

Do you read slash fiction? Well, you read the Erotic Review, so presumably you have fairly eclectic literary tastes– but until recently I had never heard of it. Frankly, it was a more innocent time. Then one evening, quietly googling Sherlock plot predictions like the amazingly cool adult I have become, I stumbled across some of the most shocking filth I have ever read. Honestly, I may never be able to see Sherlock and Moriarty together on screen again without blushing.

Read More »

POSTCARDS FROM THE EDGE 12

by Bruce Abrahams / 30th May 2015

It’s been odd weather of late. May struggles to present itself as nearly summer, rather like a long dreamed of or fancied lover who turns out on re-acquaintance to be not quite as remembered. May, despite sunny moments has been in general a little colder, less reliable and more windy than hoped for. The first two could well be true of lovers, but one hopes not the third. As my friend Nick the builder says ‘you can get pills for that’.

Read More »